FAQ’S about Hurricanes with short answers

8. What is the Saffir-Simpson scale?

The Saffir-Simpson Hurricane Scale is a chart that classifies tropical cyclones according to wind strength, developed in 1969 by civil engineer Herbert Saffir, a member of a UN commission. The scale consists of five levels, based on the speed of the winds, also related to damage to buildings. Saffir conceded the scale to the National Hurricane Center in the United States. Simpson, director of the US National Hurricane Center, later improved the scale by adding waves and flooding. However, it should be noted that the Saffir-Simpson scale does not consider the amount of precipitation or the location of the winds, which means that a Category 3 hurricane that covers a large city can cause more damage than one category 5 affecting an open or sparsely populated area.

The novels of Climate Fiction

COP – UN Framework Convention on Climate Change

Collection “Colonial History of Venezuela”


Deja un comentario